Skip to content ↓

Parkgate Primary School

Year 5

About Year 5

The Year 5 team is led by Assistant Deputy Headteacher Mrs Rani Tiwana.

The Year 5 teachers within this team are Mrs Rani Tiwana, Ms Katherine Carolan, Mrs Rita Heer and Mr Clifton Wallen.

These teachers work closely with Mrs Yvonne Pennicott and Mr Josh Coburn.

Upper years children continue to build up knowledge skills and understanding that will provide them with a solid foundation for Learning for Life. We aim to make the culmination of their time with us at Parkgate at the end of year 6 to be one of huge personal achievement for each and every child.



A good education gives a child the best possible start in life. We must ensure that all our pupils have an equal chance to make good use of the education that the school offers by providing a positive and encouraging atmosphere. To achieve this it is important that each child attends school regularly and punctually. When a child does not attend school regularly and on time they will have difficulty keeping up with their work and will therefore underachieve.

Meet the Teacher

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

Curriculum Overview

Year 5

Space Explorers

(earth, sun, moon, solar system, space exploration)

Animals including humans

Groovy Greeks

Active Planet

(extreme weather, natural disasters, mountains and volcanoes – linked to North American States)

Forces / Electricity

Living things and their habitats



Home Learning

This area will be updated as and when there are and Trips or Events.

Year 5 Trips and Events


A Gallery of Our Learning


Other Information  

National Curriculum 

For further information please click  here.

The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’, as well as Religeous Education. 

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.

Child’s age Year Key stage Assessment
3 to 4   Early years  
4 to 5 Reception Early years Teacher assessments (there’s also an optional assessment at the start of the year)
5 to 6 Year 1 KS1 Phonics screening check
6 to 7 Year 2 KS1 National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science
7 to 8 Year 3 KS2  
8 to 9 Year 4 KS2  
9 to 10 Year 5 KS2  
10 to 11 Year 6 KS2 National tests and teacher assessments in English and maths, and teacher assessments in science