Skip to content ↓

Parkgate Primary School

Year 4

COVID-19 Close Down Activities

Latest News

Please click for latest news associated with Year 4

1:1 iPad scheme initial letter

About Year 4

The Year 4 teachers within this team are Mrs Aileen Coburn, Miss Kirsty Marshall and Mr Ben Wainwright

These teachers work closely with Mrs Jane Crosby, Mrs Rajinder Sidhu and Mrs Marzenna Wolwark. 

On transition to the middle year’s team our pupils continue on their learning journey by moving from KS1 to KS2. Within a very supportive framework, the pace of work increases and the focus and expectation is for children to become increasingly more independent in their thinking, personal organisation and learning.



A good education gives a child the best possible start in life. We must ensure that all our pupils have an equal chance to make good use of the education that the school offers by providing a positive and encouraging atmosphere. To achieve this it is important that each child attends school regularly and punctually. When a child does not attend school regularly and on time they will have difficulty keeping up with their work and will therefore underachieve.

Weekly Learning Newsletter

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please

Curriculum Overview

Year 4

The Struggle for Britain

(Vikings and Anglo Saxons)

Adventures in Europe

(European countries, water cycle)

Awesome Egyptians

Sound / States of matter


Living things and their habitats / Animals including humans


Home Learning

Whilst we assess the needs of the children after their time off we have decided to hold back on Home Learning.  This will be replaced in the meantime by a 'Weekly Learning Letter'. 

Please continue to use the links below to support children with their learning.


School code: rbts 


Year 4 Trips and Events

This area will be updated as and when there are and Trips or Events.


A Gallery of Our Learning



Other Information 

Year 4 PE day is on Thursday.


National Curriculum 

For further information please click  here.

The ‘basic’ school curriculum includes the ‘national curriculum’, as well as Religeous Education. 

The national curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by primary and secondary schools so children learn the same things. It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

The national curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will formally assess your child’s performance.

Child’s age Year Key stage Assessment
3 to 4   Early years  
4 to 5 Reception Early years Teacher assessments (there’s also an optional assessment at the start of the year)
5 to 6 Year 1 KS1 Phonics screening check
6 to 7 Year 2 KS1 National tests and teacher assessments in English, maths and science
7 to 8 Year 3 KS2  
8 to 9 Year 4 KS2  
9 to 10 Year 5 KS2  
10 to 11 Year 6 KS2 National tests and teacher assessments in English and maths, and teacher assessments in science